The Highland Foundation Offers Scholarships Annually to Graduating Seniors

Get rewarded for your hard work

Thanks to the generous support of several planned giving donors, The Highland Foundation is offering 15 scholarships worth a total of $17,500. To learn more about the selection criteria for each scholarship, click the links below. The application deadline for each is April 15, 2017.



• Highland Foundation for Educational Excellence Scholarship: Up to eight $1,000 awards

• William O. Wagar Memorial Math & Science Scholarship: $1,000

• Victoria MacKenzie Jackson Memorial Scholarship (Performing Arts): $1,000

Steven J. Bilecky Memorial Scholarship: $1,000

Hugh and Grace Eyerdom Memorial Scholarship: $1,000

Letha E. House Scholarship: $1,000

Lalitha Chada Science Scholarship: $2,500

World Language Scholarship: $1,000


To apply:

All scholarship applications can be accessed and submitted through Naviance. Contact your guidance counselor if you need more information on using Naviance. Applications for select scholarships are also available through the links above. 


To donate:

If you are interested in establishing a memorial scholarship or exploring other planned giving options, click here or contact Executive Director Theresa Wright at

2016 Scholarship Winners Announced

At the end of each school year, The Highland Foundation awards five $1,000 scholarships to select Highland High School Seniors based on their academic performance and community involvement. For 2016, those recipients were:


Maison DeWalt is a member of the National Honor Society, Young Americans For Freedom, and the Peer Leader Program. He also participated in Buckeye Boys State, Speech and Debate, the Hornet Mentoring Program and is a DARE Role Model and a Vacation Bible School photographer. Maison also is a member of the Highland Heartbreakers and a 2-year letterman in Cross Country. Maison will be attending Bowling Green State University and plans to major in Marketing.


Gillian Hagen is the President of National Honor Society and a member of the Peer Leader Program. She is a D.A.R.E. Role Model and is president of the Science and Environmental Club. Gillian has also been actively involved in cross country and has lettered in vocal music. Gillian will be attending Mount Holyoke College and plans to major in Physics/Environmental Studies.


Colleen Hoynes has been an active member of National Honor Society, Peer Leading, and is the Vice President of Student Council. Colleen has achieved Honorable Mention All Suburban League in Volleyball and Track. She also volunteers at St Paul Lutheran and Holy Martyrs churches. She will be attending the Ohio State University and plans to major in Arts and Sciences.


Lydia Mainzer is a member of SADD, National Honor Society, and Hornet Mentoring. She is also active in her 4-H club, is a member of the Medina County Junior Fair Board and the 4-H Advisory Council Committee. Lydia was also chosen as a Buckeye Girls State Delegate. She will be attending The University of Akron and plans to major in Communications.


Carlee Rhoads is a member of the track and cross country teams. She participated in Junior Leadership Medina County. She also volunteers at Medina Hospital and Cups Café. Carlee will be attending The Ohio State University and is undecided.


Julia Scherler is a Peer Leader, a D.A.R.E. Role Model,  and a member of National Honor Society. Through membership in the Tour de Force Entertainment Company, Julia has volunteered at the Sharon Food Bank, cleaned up local parks, and shared her love of dance with handicapped adults and residents in nursing homes. She plans to attend the University of Cincinnati and major in Communication Sciences and Disorders in hopes of becoming a Speech Therapist.


Ellie Thonnings is a Peer Leader, a D.A.R.E. Role Model, and a member of National Honor Society and National Art Honor Society. She is also the co-captain of the cross country team and a squad leader in the marching band. Ellie has been involved in the prom committee and school musicals as both a cast member and part of the tech crew. Ellie will be attending The University of Cincinnati and plans to major in nursing.

In addition to the above general scholarship recipients, the Foundation also awarded several named scholarships:


The Steven J. Bilecky Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Christian GerdingChristian is a member of National Honor Society and Young Life Group. Christian is President of Student Council and is involved in ski club, speech and debate, and the prom committee. He is also a Buckeye Boys State Delegate and is actively involved in Peer Leading. Christian assisted in organizing the St. Baldrick’s Fundraiser and volunteers at Holy Martyrs Food Bank. He will be attending The Ohio State University and plans to major in Chemical Engineering.


The Hugh and Grace Eyerdom Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Gillian Hagen. She plans to attend Mount Holyoke College and major in Physics/Environmental Studies.


The William O. Wagar Memorial Math and Science Scholarship was awarded to Ryan Carpenter. Ryan has enjoyed playing baseball and most recently recreational soccer. He has participated in raising money for the St. Jude walk-a-thon as well. Ryan plans to attend Bowling Green State University and major in Information Systems Management.


The Letha E. House Scholarship was awarded to Megan Wingerter. Megan is a member of the West Side Stars Soccer Club, Volunteer Opportunities for Teens, National Honor Society, Highland Varsity soccer, the Pride of Highland Marching Band, and concert Band. Megan plans to attend Ohio State University.


The Victoria M. Jackson Performing Arts Scholarship was awarded to Zachary Dayton.


Donate Today.

It's quick, easy and secure to make an on-line or mobile donation to The Highland Foundation. Use this PayPal link to get started.

Click here to visit the Highland Local School website.  

Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
(c) The Highland Foundation